Beauty of Faiths, Treasury

Since writing my recent post, “Spirituality, Religion, and a UFO,” my mind has been flooded by so many different forms of faith. I can appreciate most faiths out there–most but not all. I’m honestly bothered by Voodoo, and incredibly uncomfortable with any faith that involves animal sacrifice (and have recently learned that there are still so many communities out there that practice in this way). But the most well-known faiths, along with many lesser known ones (including many of the small communities in India practicing off-shoots of Hinduism, and the Martial Arts performing monks way up on the mountain tops in China), I find absolutely beautiful and mesmerizing.

Here’s my latest treasury on Etsy.

Beauty of Faiths

And here are three of my favorite pieces from the collection.

Saint Francis on Recycled Barn Wood by Art 4 the Soul

Forest Photograph by Jane B Photography

Bronze Isis Nicklace by Promised Land Jewelry

Fae and Fia, our kitty, are just hanging out on the living room floor. Fae’s been playing with her pj’s that I’m about to put on her (clothes are one of her favorite things to play with), and Fia’s watching. I love my girls.

9 responses to “Beauty of Faiths, Treasury

  1. I watched a documentary on Voodoo once. It seemed to me that a majority of the religion was a sort of mind control. NOT that I would want to offend anyone of that faith, but that was my thoughts after watching the program. I’ve often wondered if that religion has been vilified by the media and that’s the reason so many people think it’s evil. Certainly Voodoo isn’t the only religion described as such 😦

    • I saw Voodoo on an episode of “Around the World in 80 Faiths” and there just seemed to be so much animal sacrifice. Like I said before, I don’t like any, but I can look at it from others’ perspectives and understand. But, in Voodoo it actually litterally made me sick (maybe I was sick anyways), but that’s why it’s not beautiful to me. Too much blood. I’d maybe have more of a reason, or be able to understand it better, if I had finished watching the section, or read about it, so I don’t mean to offend anyone. It’s just certainly not for me.

      • I will never understand animal sacrifice either. I just can’t see how that would appease a ‘god’ and have often wondered when and where that concept was started. But mostly wonder the ‘why’ of it all. But as you say – I wouldn’t want to offend anyone else’s view on the matter either!

        • It almost seems as though it’s done out of fear–fear of nature, of the gods, of what would happen if they don’t sacrifice. I don’t like living from fear. I’m happy to live peacefully. 🙂

      • That’s what I’ve thought also – preformed out of fear. I don’t want to be part of a group who operates that way. It stifles the mind which then stifles the who person. 😦

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

