Belief

I’ve been thinking about belief lately, and how much power it seems to have. Today we live in a material-based society, where we often weigh our “success” against our possessions (land, vehicles, electronics) and rely on science for answers. Of course, this isn’t how everyone thinks. But it’s the common way of life for most–in my country at least–and I feel it’s lacking something.

Science provides “factual” answers, and the value of such answers is often disputable. And they seem so important to us–more important than intuition, individual beliefs, faith. Along with William Blake, I belief that imagination can be utterly real, more real than practically anything, using the word in the same expansive sense that he did, and that there is way more to the world, to existence, than we’re aware of: things we can’t always see, and certainly can’t necessarily (scientifically) prove.

It seems that science has become a replacement for spirituality. It’s so easy to write-off the creation story in the Bible as fable because science has told us that the Earth is more than 7,000 years old (about 4.5 billion instead). But isn’t that missing the point of the story? The creation story is the beginning of an ancient canon of texts, some of which were written in inspired and visionary states, and which require (often non-literal) interpretation. I’m not saying that science is wrong. I’m saying that science, regarding the subject of inspiration and vision and thus of metaphor, is out of its depth.

Belief is its own power, and seems to belong to a perception of reality distinct from what Graham Hancock calls “the alert, problem-solving consciousness.” There needn’t be debates over the existence of God, or the existence of gods/goddesses plural, angels, or faeries for that matter. One can’t disprove what another knows is true.

There were so many unexplainable occurrences in our apartment in the weeks leading up to Fae’s home-birth.

I do have a beautiful example of belief, its power, and how it can be such a challenge in our world of materialism and science.

Michaela Evanow, a mama on a journey of faith.

Here are two appropriate blog posts.

Pain Can Make Our Hearts Beautiful: Our Journey of Faith

Standing up to Medical Assumptions: Our Journey of Faith

There are miracles all over the world, everyday, that stem from belief. I think that Michaela’s faith is absolutely beautiful, inspiring, and life-changing.

Since I’ve been writing my blog, and a little before, my husband and I have been making changes to our lifestyle, making this world work for us, in a healthy, beneficial, and profound way. We’ve been trying to separate ourselves from the “thing-lust” that surrounds us, which doesn’t fit for our family, and now we’re looking for meaning through spirituality.

Me and Fae, almost a year ago

I love how Michaela and her husband are relying on faith. They’re not allowing anyone to make them feel defeated. I feel that that’s such a beautiful, and strong, way to live.

Fae is in her little chair at my feet eating (and talking to) avocado slices, some sharp cheddar cheese, and a rice cake.

11 responses to “Belief

  1. Well said. It is bad science to assume we have all the information about how the world works. It is poor spirituality to assume our understanding of existence is complete. To keep hearts and minds open to possibility is one of the most important lessons we can teach our children.

      • BTW I tried to like your post several times. The Like button is there but it doesn’t seem to register my Like. Not sure if there is a problem with my account or yours. Just thought you would want to know.

  2. It worths the waiting. Such a great post. I love the way you think and how you see our world, I just agree with you. I am going to reblogged you my dear. xoxox

  3. Wow, wow, wow, thank you Melissa for your love and words and your belief in my belief! It is so powerful, words and community and faith. I’m very honoured by you. Much love to you.

  4. Pingback: against all odds: you’re going to have a big family, Abraham! «·

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

