The Laine Blogger Award

A fellow blogger, Hayley, from Love Art Baby, sweetly awarded me with the Laine Blogger Award. I love Hayley’s blog–it’s one of my favorites. I found it shortly after her son, Jehryn, was born, and I’ve been faithfully reading it ever since. There are a few blogs that I’ve come across where I do consider the writers as friends, Hayley’s blog being one of them, which is one thing that I love so much about the blogging community. Blogs can be so personal–my readers can know more about me than some of my relatives.

I’d love to meet some of my blogging friends one day, maybe for a cup of hot coffee, or, better yet, over a glass of wine. Our little ones could play at our feet. And we could talk–really talk, because what I love so much about these bloggers is their honesty, their thoughts and opinions. In person I feel we’d strike a beautiful rapport, because I feel I already know them as the beautiful people they are.

Fae playing, while naked at my feet.

The Laine Blogger Award is accompanied by 5 questions to be answered, and 5 nominations to be given. Here they are:

What is your current beauty obsession?

Experimenting with ways to dress sexy while wearing comfortable clothes.

My husband loves it when I dress sexy, and I love doing it. I’ve never been one to shy away from revealing (yet tasteful) clothing. And, on the other hand, my family understands my love–and desire–for comfortable clothes, dating back to when I first learned to dress myself. I’m completely convinced that I don’t  always have to sacrifice comfort to dress sexy. And Jared agrees.

Name one item that you wish you owned.

A dress form (a mannequin for draping used in fashion design).

Dress forms in the Fashion Department at the Savannah College of Art & Design (where I got my degree).
photo by: tryafashionblog.blogspot.com

I desperately miss draping on a dress form during my semesters at art school. I have everything that I need for pattern-making, and have the ability to draft a pattern from scratch to make just about any design of women’s- or children’s-wear that I’d like. But, draping garments on a mannequin, with just some pins, fabric, and scissors is just so exhilarating–and peaceful actually.

What is your favorite topic to read about?

There are a lot. One of my personality quirks is how I jump from interest in one topic quickly to another, researching something as deeply as I can so as to confidently make up my mind about it. I always have something that I’m working out through research, but here’s a few topics I’ve found interesting over the past couple of years.

Faerie-lore, Utopian Lit, Crystals, Natural Pregnancy, Home Birth, Real Food and Holistic Health, Natural Parenting, Eco-Friendly Living, The Paranormal, Sustainable Living, Alternative Lifestyles, Cultures (especially primitive), Alternative History, Mysterious Places, Spirituality and Religion, and Homeschooling via Montessori and Waldorf.

What inspired you to become a blogger?

It was partly due to my need for a new project that would challenge me. I’ve always created art, but hadn’t written much, if anything.

What nail polish are you wearing now?

None. I actually haven’t worn nail polish since before I was pregnant. Maybe it’s about time for me to at least give myself a pedicure.

Michaela Evanow

Heart Mama

Mother Who

StephiCakes

Folk Haven

Fae is dancing at my feet to Chopin.

7 responses to “The Laine Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: the laine blogger award. «·

  2. .I remember when you found my blog! I had just started and felt totally lost. Then I started reading yours and realized we are kindred spirits. I, too, think about getting together with fellow mama bloggers. That would be so nice. As our babes grow older, I’d love to talk with you about homeschooling approaches. 🙂

    • Sounds great! That would be fun. I can’t believe how fast they’re growing, and that I’m already researching homeschooling! Also, I haven’t been able to open your blog in about a month! I got some sort of computer virus and now the page won’t load. So don’t think that I haven’t had anything to comment 🙂 I’m hoping to figure the issue out soon.

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

