The Decision to Homeschool

Jared and I are planning to homeschool Fae. We quickly eliminated the thought of public schooling a year or so back–and for so many mutual reasons that it was barely a discussion. Jared has worked in the public school system, has experienced the chaos, and combine that with our well-researched choices–no vaccinations as of yet and an all-natural diet to name but two–and public schooling just won’t support our lifestyle. We also want to approach our child(ren)’s education in a more well-rounded manner.

Yeats Quote by Naiad and the Moon of

There seem to be some great private school options, be they Montessori, Waldorf, traditional-type schools with inspired teachers, or what you will. But homeschooling suits us best–partly because I’ve become so passionate and excited about the prospect of it. And, when comparing choices, homeschooling just feels right.

So I’ve been reading up on Montessori and Waldorf education. It may seem early, with Fae being just 18 months old, but these aren’t just ways of educating a child, they’re ways of living, and can weave right into your homelife. Parents can start to incorporate Montessori and Waldorf ways from birth–something that I’ve been doing all along, and I’m sure many natural-parenting mom’s are doing without even realizing.

I’ve gone back and forth as to which style to choose for homeschooling. I’m currently thinking that I may combine the two styles, somehow. There are so many ways that Waldorf and Montessori could compliment each other, and in such a beautiful way. But, in doing that there would be some philosophical conflicts. I’d have to pick one style, and add in complimentary tidbits from the other. As you can see, I have more research and contemplating to do–not that homeschooling needs to be exhaustively thought-out or complicated. I’m just so pleased with what I’ve read so far, and incredibly excited at our choice of education for our daughter.

Fae with a book

Fae is wandering around our apartment, doing toddler things. She works so hard when playing. It’s absolutely adorable.

I’d love to hear people’s opinions in regard to Waldorf and Montessori education. Please let me know if you have experience with either and what you like or dislike about each. Thank you for your comments–I just love comments in general.

10 responses to “The Decision to Homeschool

    • Hmm, I’ll certainly check out unschooling. I had heard it before (when I first began thinking about what to do instead of public schooling), but forgot to look into it. Thanks so much for your comment.

  1. I love that you are choosing to homeschool. This is something we talk about often. We are currently trying to get to a point (financially) where I can stay home. I would very much love to home school as well. Canada has a decent school system, but the classes are big, and teachers don’t have time for individuals or (what I believe is) truly enriching teaching methods. When I was young (well before I chose to take Fashion Design) I wanted to be a teacher, and I always knew I’d would teach my children.

  2. I wrote a lot and the page got refreshed (aaargh technology!). I loved the freedom and autonomy and the wonderful lessons offered in Montessori sometimes taught by class parents– these showed me that real people cared about things like sign language, grinding corn to make cornmeal, and building a mini-volcano and making it erupt, and gave me a genuine interest in learning.
    I always wanted to home-school with friends. When I think about creating an intentional community, I think a Lot about teaching and what would go into that. 🙂 Blessings.

    • Montessori does seem to give children such a true interest, and joy, in learning. When I think back to what I remember and enjoyed most from my schooling as a child, the activities and lessons were more all-encompasing, and less like our common practices.

      And I think that schooling in an intentional community, especially with alternative teaching plans (like Montessori or Waldorf) would lend so much to the community as a whole. Truly inspired teaching, from the heart, would certainly help to shape beautiful people.

  3. There was a time when I thought I’d homeschool, but I feel very blessed to have my elder daughter go to a Waldorf kindergarten. I agree with you–these aren’t just styles for the schoolroom, but for life, and given how important the early years are, they have a tremendous amount to offer parents. When I began learning about Waldorf it was a profound sense of coming home. I needed it as a parent far more than my child needed it. Do you know about theparentingpassageway.com? it is a great resource for Waldorf inspired parenting and homeschooling both. The book You Are Your Child’s First Teacher changed my life, and so here I am coming out as a major Waldork.
    Whatever you do, follow the child and enjoy the journey!

    • I’m actually half-way through the book “You are Your Child’s First Teacher” right now and I love it. Rahima talks about so much that I’ve pondered when it comes to little children–a lot of which seems to just be common sense, but not at all common these days. Waldorf, in general, feels like home to me, maybe similar to how you feel. I just find the philosophies so gentle and natural, and also easy to incorporate into our already, somewhat Waldorf-inspired lifestyle.

      I do read theparentingpassageway.com. I recently found it when searching for homeschooling blogs. It has a lot of good information.

      I also really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

  4. Pingback: In Search of Alternative Education Approaches | Naiad And The Moon Of·

  5. Pingback: In Search of Alternative Education Approaches | Naiad And The Moon Of·

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

