Nourishing Chocolate Fudge

Most of what my family eats takes preparation and needs to be made from scratch. So I’ve learned to plan ahead, cook larger portions, and always have certain snacks on hand. Eating a completely real food diet takes some work, but it’s rewarding.

One snack that I’ve been keeping in the fridge, or trying to keep in the fridge (they disappear fast), is what I call Nourishing Chocolate Fudge. There are many similar recipes all over the internet right now, stemming from I don’t know where, but I based mine on the Carob Fudge Recipe in the book “Nourishing Traditions” by Sally Fallon (page 527). Instead of carob (I haven’t made the switch from chocolate to carob, as Sally recommends), I use cocoa power. I add some almond butter and coconut oil, and I use less honey.

Nourishing Chocolate Fudge

This fudge tastes incredible. It’s also easy to alter to suit special diets (Paleo, Vegan), and it’s already Gluten-Free. Here’s my recipe.

NOURISHING CHOCOLATE FUDGE

1 cup cocoa powder

1 cup almond butter

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp sea salt

*For Paleo or Vegan fudge, use 1 cup coconut oil, and omit the butter.

– Melt butter and coconut oil over low heat while stirring–just until melted.

– Add all ingredients into a bowl.

– Stir with a wisk until smooth.

– Pour into a loaf pan lined with parchment paper (or use an ice-cube or mini-muffin silicone mold), and chill for a few hours. When the fudge is solid, cut into squares (or pop them out of the mold) and store them in an airtight container in the fridge.

That’s it. It’s simple.

And, as a side note, for the most “nourishing” fudge, use the highest-quality ingredients that you can find and afford. For butter, look for raw, organic butter from pastured cows. Use organic, unrefined, cold-pressed, extra-virgin coconut oil from a quality source. Make sure that the only ingredients in your almond butter are almonds, and that your vanilla extract is real–omit it if you only have imitation extract on hand. Unfiltered, raw honey has way more nutrients than processed honey. And there are many types of natural sea salts. Try to choose one with a higher mineral content (like celtic sea salt or red sea salt from Hawaii), but avoid table salt. For the cocoa powder, try to find natural (or better yet, raw) powder, or use a dutch processed powder. Food is so much more fulfilling, for your body and soul, when the ingredients are closest to nature.

I hope you enjoy the recipe!

It’s snowing outside, and I’m snuggling with my napping daughter and kitty. I just love snowy afternoons.

5 responses to “Nourishing Chocolate Fudge

    • I’ve heard of that book. I should check it out. I just finished reading “Deep Nutrition” by Catherine Shanahan (I’m sure I’ll be mentioning it in an upcoming post). It was amazing. You’ll love it–anyone who likes “Nourishing Traditions” would. It’s especially great for women planning on having babies–or more babies. I learned so much.

  1. So could you substitute carob to replace coconut oil and almond butter? I’m allergic to the latter two.
    🙂 Yum, fudge! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

