2 Days of Soaked Oat Breakfasts

Since I’ve been using more traditional methods of preparing food (soaking being one of them), I like to plan ahead in order to make the process a little simpler. Fae and I often eat oats for breakfast, so I came up with a two day breakfast, where I prepare enough oats for two meals. The first day we eat oatmeal, the second day we eat oatcakes.

Soaked Oatmeal

Soaked Oatcakes

The recipe for soaking oats is in a one-to-one-to-one ratio, so it’s easy to adjust the serving size. My recipe feeds my toddler and me for two days. Here it is.

SOAKING THE OATS (do this step one day before)

1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats (I use gluten-free oats)

1 1/2 cups warm filtered water

1 1/2 tbsp. either whey, yoghurt, or raw vinegar

-Warm the water on the stove top.

-Add whey, yoghurt, or raw vinegar, and stir.

-Put the oats in a bowl.

-Pour water mixture over the oats, and cover the bowl.

-Leave the bowl of oats on the counter for 12-24 hours.

Soaked Oats

OATMEAL (make this the next morning)

1 1/2 cups water

Soaked oats (from previous recipe)

Salt (I use Celtic Sea Salt for its high mineral content)

1 1/2 tbsp flax seeds *optional

-Grind flax seeds (I use my mortar and pestle).

-Add some salt to the water and bring to a boil.

-Add soaked oats and flax seeds, stir, and reduce heat to medium.

-Cook for about 5 minutes (until thick), stirring a few times, and remove from heat.

-Divide oatmeal into two even portions, and store half of it in the fridge to use the next morning.

-Garnish oatmeal with what you please, like coconut oil or butter, coconut milk or raw cream, maple syrup or honey, fresh or dried fruit, almond butter, nuts, or shredded coconut.

Ground Flax Seeds

Fae's Oatmeal

OATCAKES (make this the second morning)

Leftover oatmeal

3 eggs

Butter

-Take leftover oatmeal out of the fridge.

-Heat a frying pan to medium, and add butter.

-Add 3 eggs and stir until somewhat smooth.

-Pour batter into circles on the pan (just like pancakes).

-Flip after a couple of minutes, and then plate when finished.

-Melt butter on the oatcakes and eat them with maple syrup, honey, or coconut milk. They’re also great with some fresh fruit or shredded coconut added into the batter.

Cooking Oatcakes

Oatcake and Coconut Milk

Fae eating her oatmeal

Enjoy your two soaked oat breakfasts!

5 responses to “2 Days of Soaked Oat Breakfasts

  1. Both of those breakfasts look great! I should try them! Roozle loves oatmeal, but we never have the time anymore for steel cut oats and often make instant oatmeal which is full of sugar. This sounds so much better. Thanks!

    • I was intimidated with soaking oats at first, but now it’s just become routine. They also cook quicker when they’re soaked–much easier for me. 🙂

  2. We eat soaked oats too! I buy steel cut oats, but am thinking about ordering some raw, sproutable oats from Blue Mountain Organics. With Jehryn’s dental concerns, I have been so cautious about grains. I would love to have conversations with you about traditional foods. During pregnancy, I was introduced to this world by my wise, goddesslike midwives. But I didn’t grow hungry for the knowledge until Jehryn’s teeth became an issue. I recall you writing about avoiding sweeteners, even honey. I certainly avoid giving sweeteners, and limit his fruit intake. But I have a big weakness for sugar, and consequently hypoglycemic tendencies. Could you remind me of the individual whose reseach has influenced your decision to avoid sweeteners. I’m hunting for that post. 🙂

    • This is the post that influenced my decision, The Four Pillars of World Cuisine, but it looks like you already found it. I loved this book, and learned so much. My husband even read it after I finished.

      I had cut out processed and packaged foods when I was pregnant with Fae, but it wasn’t until she was about to begin eating food that I started to research traditional foods and traditional cooking methods, and real food nutrition more in depth. We’re wary about grains too. We’ve cut out gluten and only eat other grains that are soaked. My next step is to start sprouting too. I’d love to start sprouting my oats.

      I’ve always had a weakness for sweet things too–mainly fruit, vanilla ice cream, and chocolate desserts. But I was surprised to find that I don’t crave sweets anymore, at all. It seems that once our bodies no longer need to rely on sugar (and if we make sure to eat enough healthy fats) then the sweets aren’t so tempting anymore. All and all, it was much easier than I thought. And now, I still eat desert-type things, I just find that they don’t need to be sweet. A touch of honey or maple syrup in some homemade ice cream or custard is plenty sweet for me (and I omit it totally for Fae). And I make my “Nourishing Chocolate Fudge” without any honey now, and still love it.

  3. Pingback: Wool Wraps | Naiad And The Moon Of·

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

