Making Do

Back in my early teens, in my middle school library, I came across an old book of quotations by Theodore Roosevelt and his wife. At the time, I hadn’t yet developed my deep love for reading, but I did possess a passion for old, musty books. As I flipped through the browned pages I found bits of wisdom on ways to view life, and thoughts on how to live it best. These little quotes were inspiring to me, and seem to have created some sort of turning point.

Do what you can quote by Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt’s quote, “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are,” has been on my mind lately. I’m currently in a place where I’m making do with what I have–living in a small space, temporarily, without some of the common amenities that I previously took for granted. But even more so, the quote applies to how my husband and I have been living our lives these past years.

I believe so strongly in making do with what I have instead of waiting for things to happen. It helps to keep me in the present, and to keep me productive. I don’t want time to pass by empty of life. I want to fill it with decisions, growing, and moving forward.

Fae is dancing around with Jared to some Chopin.

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

