The Pulse of the World

Upon completing the novel “The Rainbow” by D.H. Lawrence–possibly the most beautiful novel I’ve ever read–I was left with Lawrence’s imagery of the pulse of the world. In “The Rainbow” there’s a heartbeat in nature that connects the characters to the beauty of the world, the true life, and keeps them grounded. These dynamic, impassioned characters struggle through the ugliness of the reality of the world in order to tap in to the beauty and find their true being, never becoming truly lost due to their own pulse which keeps them connected.

DH Lawrence "The Rainbow"

I finished reading “The Rainbow” this morning, and then picked up the book “Seven Times the Sun: Guiding Your Child Through the Rhythms of the Day” by Shea Darian to begin. Darian immediately begins the book by mentioning waking up “to the beating of the universal heart.”

DH Lawrence Quote "intercourse between heaven and earth"

Rhythm is important for my well-being, which is something that settled into my understanding in 2013. When my life is in rhythm, I feel connected. I feel as though I’m truly living. I feel spiritual, balanced, and whole. I’m able to brush-off stressors, pass-over anxious thoughts and feelings, and feel completely myself. Staying in rhythm, and remembering to remain connected to the pulse of nature, is becoming more and more a part of my daily lifestyle. It’s healing, and keeps an air of peace around me.

I want to remember Lawrence’s imagery; the pulse of nature, the heartbeat of the Earth, the natural rhythmic beating of life. I want to grip it close and allow it to influence my own self, my daughter, my husband, and my soon-to-be-born son.

DH Lawrence Quote "feeling the pulse and body of the soil"

Fae is coloring with her beeswax block crayons at her little wooden table. She keeps asking me to color with yellow, so that’s what I’m about to do.

 

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

