Wool Soakers, Longies, and Booties for our New Baby

There is something so indigenous about newborn babies wrapped up in wool. People all around the world dress their infants in wool sweaters, pants, bonnets, and blankets. Seemingly more so in the less wealthy areas–or in the more homestead-bound communities–and contrastively so, because in a wealthy country like the United States, wool products are expensive and hard to come across. I find places like the plains of Mongolia and the mountains in Peru to have some of the most inspiring fashion for children–beautiful, but also practical and basic, and made of natural fibers.

Since I carry such an appreciation–and love–for wool, I’ve been making wool soakers, longies, and booties for my newborn who’s expected to arrive in April. I’m so grateful that I’m able to do this. And I’m still amazed (and proud) that I was able to get my wool soaker (and other diaper) patterns drafted to my specifics when Fae was so young, and that I opened my Etsy shop when I did. It’s such a blessing to be able to stay at home with my children and to be able to make what I need for them.

Newborn and small Wool Soakers for our new baby.

Newborn and small wool soakers for our new baby.

Newborn and small soakers, longies, and booties for our new baby.

Newborn and small soakers, longies, and booties for our new baby.

After an hour or so of dress-up and doll house play, Fae is asleep on the couch.

*All of these items can be found in my Etsy shop, Fae Arbor, and are exclusive to that shop. You can like my Facebook page for updates on new products and blog posts.

4 responses to “Wool Soakers, Longies, and Booties for our New Baby

    • Thanks! And I’m so happy to hear that. I had trouble finding booties when Fae was tiny so I’d have to layer socks on cold days. I love how booties fit right into snowsuits. 🙂

  1. I absolutely love the two soakers you made for our baby on the way. So soft and so well-made. I’ve loved reading your rationale for the materials you choose, too. Looking forward to ordering some longies and a sleep sack when the shop is restocked!

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

