The Middle Step

I graduated from the Savannah College of Art & Design with a degree in Fashion Design (Summa Cum Laude with a 4.0), a boyfriend back home in New Hampshire who I wanted to marry and have children with, and yards and yards of lavish organic wool left over from my senior fashion collection–a winter collection that was utopia-inspired with a Nordic feel and a handmade yet high-end disposition. I knew that making a family was my next step in life, and I was sure that my path as an artist was clear before me. What I hadn’t expected, however, was the middle step.

Me, wearing a couple of pieces from my collection.

Me, wearing a couple of pieces from my collection.

After my daughter’s home birth I became possessed by a drive to make her whole world as natural as possible. For instance, I created the patterns, the label, and the atmosphere of Fae Arbor, my little shop for “nature” babies, one that would adhere to one of my mottos (one that I’m actually quite strict with myself about), namely, to “have nothing in your [house] that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.” Thanks William Morris, you’ve enhanced my life. I came across this quote while researching for my senior collection and have continually adjusted my surroundings accordingly ever since.

Patternmaking for Fae Arbor.

Patternmaking for Fae Arbor.

The leftover fabric from my senior collection (that I purchased with some of the money my Pepere bequeathed me–my pilot Pepere, who remains one of my heroes) happened to be exactly what I needed in order to open my shop. (I like to think that somehow the universe was working in my favor, or that someone or something had a hand.) I have no idea why I drastically over-ordered so much expensive fabric–although, with all of the frantic passion I had coursing through me in order to finish my collection to my high standard (which is higher than I can ever seem to reach), my mind wasn’t quite in a rational place.

Anyways, I’m thankful for that oversight, which helped me to create and open Fae Arbor, my natural baby shop. It’s become very close to my heart.

The Middle Step -- Naiad and the Moon of 3

Any thoughts? I love hearing from you.

